Go Forth Eat Duck!

What better way to enter the world of blogging than with my favorite guaranteed to lick your plate clean recipe! My only other experience with duck was Curried Duck and Buss up Shot on beach “limes” or at family gatherings at Granny Rosie’s house. But that’s another story…

Even though I’ve made this recipe a few times, each time with plate licking involved…I think it’s time I shared it with you. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do…

You will need:

  • 5 teaspoons (packed) fresh lavender blossoms or 2 teaspoons dried
  • 2 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons coarse sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black peppercorns
  • 1  6- to 6 1/2-pound duck, fresh or frozen, thawed
  • 1 cup low-salt chicken broth (I use homemade chicken broth when I have it)
  • 1 cup dry red wine (doesn’t matter what kind or brand…I usually go with leftovers from dinner parties or whatever favorite red wine you like)
  • 1/4 cup honey ( I prefer whatever local honey is available in your area. I have access to three different bee-keepers in my area, so no shortage of great tasting honey).
  • 4 baguette slices

Preheat oven to 350°F. Finely grind 2 teaspoons fresh or 1 teaspoon dried lavender blossoms, thyme, sea salt and peppercorns in spice grinder, coffee grinder or with mortar and pestle.

Remove fat deposits and giblets from duck cavity, reserving liver. Trim excess skin and fat from neck area. Rinse inside and out; pat dry.

Cutting through skin and fat (but not flesh) of duck breasts, score in crisscross pattern.

Rub inside and outside of duck with herb mixture; return duck liver to cavity.

Place duck, breast up, on rack in roasting pan.

Roast 2 hours. Remove from oven. Increase oven temperature to 375°F. Transfer duck to plate. Pour pan juices into 4-cup glass measuring cup; spoon off fat. Return juices and 1 tablespoon fat to pan. Add broth, 4 tablespoons of honey and wine.

Return duck to pan. Brush with 2 tablespoons honey.

Roast duck 20 minutes, basting once with pan juices. Brush with 2 tablespoons honey; sprinkle with 1 teaspoon fresh or 1/2 teaspoon dried lavender.

Roast duck until deep golden and thermometer inserted into innermost part of thigh registers 180°F, about 5 minutes longer.

Transfer duck to platter.

Remove liver; mash finely in small bowl.

Spread liver over baguette slices.

Add 1 teaspoon fresh or 1/2 teaspoon dried lavender to roasting pan. Place over medium heat. Boil juices until thick enough to coat spoon, whisking often, 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

Transfer to bowl. Slice duck and serve with baguette slices, any of your favorite greens (I did mine with Sea Salt Roasted Asparagus …See Recipe below) and pan juices.

Sea Salt Roasted Asparagus

1 bundle of asparagus (local organic if you can)

A Pinch of Fine Sea Salt

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Rinse the asparagus under cool water. Trim the ends off. I usually use my knife to cut straight through the ends versus breaking each stalk by hand.
I also save the ends to add into my dogs’ Crock Pot Diet. Actually I save all scraps of food for their Crock Pot and any un-salvageable parts go into the compost.
Pat dry the asparagus. Place on baking sheet. Drizzle about 4 tablespoons of olive oil over the top.
Sprinkle a pinch of fine sea salt on top.
Let stand for 5 minutes before placing in oven. Roast for 15 to 20 minutes depending on desired level of crispiness.
Remove from oven.
Final Plating of Sliced Duck, Roasted Asparagus, Duck Pate on Rosemary Olive Baguette and Pan Drippings:
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Go Forth Eat Duck!

  1. Carla Suite says:

    Absolutely delicious. I am looking forward to more recipes. Keep up the great work

  2. This is exactly the fourth blog post, of your blog I really checked
    out. But yet I enjoy this 1, “Go Forth Eat Duck! | MyPersonalChef’s Weblog” the very best. Regards ,Tammara

Leave a comment